Justices of the Peace

Justices of the Peace carry out many administrative and judicial functions in New Zealand. In particular, they can help you by:

  • certifying copies of documents
  • witnessing signatures
  • taking statutory declarations and affidavits
  • completing many other tasks that require formal signatures or approval. 

Justices of the Peace are volunteers and their services are free.

Justices of the Peace at Massey University

Massey University is fortunate to have several Justices of the Peace on its Auckland, Palmerston North and Wellington campuses. If you require the services of a Justice of the Peace, please contact one of the people below. All Justices of the Peace at Massey University have other jobs, so the courtesy of making an appointment for Justice of the Peace services at a convenient time is appreciated.

Auckland campus

  Phone Email Location
Rohini Subbian
Available by appointment on Mondays, Thursdays and Fridays (afternoons preferred).
021 145 3234
or
09 213 6459
R.Subbian@massey.ac.nz LIB2.10, Level 2 in the Library Building. (Ask staff at the Service Desk.)
Mr Ricky Waters
Available by appointment on Tuesdays and Wednesdays.
027 266 4569
or
09 414 0800 extn 43449
R.K.Waters@massey.ac.nz Room 1.17, Massey Business School, East Precinct.

 

Manawatū campus (Palmerston North)

  Phone Email Location
Ms Vicki Beagley
Available by appointment from 8am-12noon.
021 404 549 V.M.Beagley@massey.ac.nz Room 3.35, Social Science Tower Extension (adjoins the Social Science Tower and the School of Psychology buildings).
Karen Devantier
Available by appointment.
027 222 0864
or
06 951 6328
K.Devantier@massey.ac.nz Room 8.22 (adjacent to lift), 8th Floor, Social Science Tower.
Ms Michelle Fremaux
Available by appointment.
027 406 3427
or
06 951 647206
M.Fremaux@massey.ac.nz Equine Parentage and Animal Genetics Service Centre, Drysdale Drive.
Associate Professor Nick Roskruge 06 951 7876 N.Roskruge@massey.ac.nz Room 1.04, Māori Resource Studies (Old Fruit Crops Building), Batchelar Road.
Professor Surinder Saggar
Available by appointment. 12 noon to 1pm and 3.00pm on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.
021 062 4790
or
06 353 4934
S.K.Saggar@massey.ac.nz Landcare Research, Manaaki Whenua Building, Riddet Rd, Reception at Level 2.

 

Wellington campus

  Phone Email Location
Heike Ulrich
Available by appointment.
021 423 574 
or
04 979 3518
H.Ulrich@massey.ac.nz Block 1, Ground Floor

What should you bring with you

At your appointment please bring photo identification, such as a driver’s licence or passport. Also bring both the originals and photocopies of any documents you need to have certified, and any formal documents that you need to sign. Do not sign anything before the appointment. Please note that Justices of the Peace cannot make photocopies for you. Please also check that your document can be actioned by a Justice of the Peace as not everything can.

Justices of the Peace outside Massey University

Beyond Massey, there are many Justices of the Peace in the community, and you are likely to find a number of Justices of the Peace near where you live. All major cities also have Justice of the Peace service desks at prominent city locations, which often run daily. You can search for local Justices of the Peace and service desks at the Justice of the Peace website.

Contact us Mon - Fri 8:30am to 4:30pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 contact@massey.ac.nz Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey